How to lock your Facebook profile

Home

Facebook is one of the most popular social media platforms, it has billions of users all over the world, and it allows you to connect with people all over the world, you can connect with your friends or family who live in any part of the world.


lock your Facebook profile


Facebook's security features

You can protect your Facebook profile picture with a profile picture guard, which helps protect your profile picture from misuse, giving more control to users by restricting who can download their profile picture.

Your display picture or profile picture is your primary identification on social media, thus it is very important to keep it safe, especially if you have a public profile, where anyone can just copy your profile picture and create a fake identity with your name.

Fortunately, Facebook has security features such as:
Profile Picture Guard and Facebook Profile Lock help avoid scams.

What is a Facebook profile lock?

Facebook Profile Lock is a feature with which you can lock your profile and show a limited view of your profile content to people who are not added to your friend's list, if you lock your Facebook profile, they will not be able to access your photos and Facebook Stories and your news posts and photos posted to your timeline on their profile except for people who have been added to your Friends' list.

In addition, all of your previous public posts will be changed to Only Friends, only a specific part of the branch's information about About will be visible to anyone coming to your profile, and non-friends will not be able to see the full-size profile picture or cover photo, and Tag review and Profile review will be turned on.

How to lock your Facebook profile

Please note that you cannot lock your Facebook Profile Lock through your laptop or PC, only through mobile apps.
Note: This feature is not active everywhere at the moment.
Facebook profile lock:

To lock your Facebook profile, follow these steps:

  • Open the Facebook application and log in to your Facebook account by entering the required information. It is the E-mail address or the phone number that you used when creating the account, and the password used to protect the account, also enter it in the field designated for it.

  • You will go directly to the home page on Facebook, the News Feed. Click on the three horizontal lines on the top right of the page. Click on your Facebook account name to go to your profile page.

  • Click the three dots in the upper right corner of your Facebook account; to show you a list of options.

  • Click on the Lock Profile option and you will get a confirmation page that says: Your Profile Is Locked.

  • Now only your friends can see your full-size profile picture and people who are not added to your friend's list can see up to 5 details on your profile.

Unblock Facebook Profile

Likewise, you can open your profile whenever you want, through the following steps:

  • Click the three dots in the upper right corner of your Facebook account.

  • Click Unlock Profile and you will get a confirmation page that says: Your Profile Is Unlocked.

What is profile picture protection?

Profile picture protection is another security feature of Facebook where a blue shield appears over your picture and no one will be able to copy, share, download, or take that picture.

Once Profile Picture Guard is activated, only you and your friends can tag your profile picture, this shield is a one-click privacy setting for your profile picture.

How to turn on Facebook profile picture protection

Please note that you cannot turn on your Facebook profile Picture Guard on computers, only on mobile apps.
Note: This feature is not active everywhere at the moment.
Protect your profile picture
To turn on Facebook profile picture protection, follow these steps:

  • Open your account in the Facebook application.
  • Click on the three horizontal lines at the top right of the Facebook News Feed page.

  • Next, click on your name to go to your Facebook profile, and click on the profile picture to show you a list of options. Select the Turn on Profile Picture Guard option.

  • Click the Next button.
  • Click the Save button.

Unprotect your Facebook profile picture

Similarly, you can turn off your Facebook profile Picture Guard, with the following steps:

  • Click on the three horizontal lines at the top right of the Facebook home page.
  • After that, click on your name to go to your Facebook profile and click on the profile picture.
  • Select the Turn off Profile Picture Guard option.
  • Click the Next button.
  • Click the Save button.

Facebook is one of the most popular social media platforms and is vulnerable to such scams and hacking; So it is always better to keep your privacy intact to avoid any kind of identity theft or abuse.

What happens when you turn on the profile picture protection feature on Facebook?

Once you apply a feature Protect your profile picture, other people won't be able to click Share, Send in a message, or Download from your existing Facebook profile picture.

Also, Facebook users who are not on your friend's list will not be able to tag anyone, including themselves in your profile picture, and it will also prevent other users from taking a screenshot of your profile picture.

It will only allow you and your Facebook friends to tag your current profile picture, the blue border and the protective shield around your existing profile pictures identify the protected profile picture.

Knowing that this feature is not available everywhere now, you can only use it in certain countries.

Other ways to manage your privacy

If none of the above features are available in your country, you can control your privacy in other ways through your privacy settings, such as:
  1. Use the Privacy Checkup.
  2. Choose who you share posts, photos, and other information with.
  3. Edit basic information and choose who can see it.
  4. Change your Story privacy settings.
  5. Run a Profile Review.
  6. Run a tagged review.
  7. Control who can befriend and follow you.

Control who can search for you using your email or mobile phone number.

google-playkhamsatmostaqltradent